MAC Studio Careblend Pressed Powder Review

compact

MAC Studio Careblend Pressed Powder in Light
MAC Studio Careblend Pressed Powder in Light

A few weeks ago, I picked up the Studio Careblend pressed powder at MAC and as I knew it had been out for a year or two and I had not heard much about it, I decided to do a review. On their website MAC describes the product as “formulated to provide a smooth, virtually invisible, fresh-looking finish, this soft cream-like powder is carefully blended to provide the skin with extra care, nourishment and comfort” and I was fairly skeptical about the product. However, I needed a new powder and as powders can be fairly problematic for my dry and very sensitive acne-prone skin, I picked this one up, knowing that I could return it when it undoubtedly would either irritate my skin or break me out (and I hate wasting money on products that I can’t use).

Note: In Canada, you generally cannot return products that you’ve used.

After trying this for a few weeks, I can safely say that the Studio Careblend pressed powder from MAC is a good setting powder for those of us with dry and/or sensitive skin. However, take my opinion on this products merit for those of us with sensitive with a grain of salt; any ingredient in any product can break somebody out regardless of whether or not the ingredients are considered non-irritating or non-acnegenic. With that being said, I think this is a good option for sensitive skin regardless — many MAC face products (particularly powders… ahem…. studio fix powder …) either break me out or simply irritate my skin and this one definitely does not.

I am always skeptical of the claims made about beauty products in their descriptions of them — a powder is not ever going to so-called “provide the skin with extra care, nourishment and comfort” in my opinion/ experience. Like any other powder in the universe, this powder has the potential to look cakey and is visible on the skin, however I found Studio Careblend to set makeup excellently with a velvety feel on the skin and provide a surprisingly nice soft matte finish. This powder does not set and mattify your makeup with the cost of losing all of your radiance, somehow it allows both.

It is worthy to note that although this powder is geared towards drier skins, it can highlight flaky patches, similar to most face products that I have ever tried. MAC Studio Careblend provides sheer coverage that I am sure can be built up for fuller coverage. [Note: As I have skin that tends to be dry and flaky, I do not use powders on their own (as foundation) and therefore I cannot attest to their longevity and appearance on their own]. I found that when I used the powder to set my foundation, it made my face makeup feel undetectable on my skin, eliminating that dreaded ‘foundation’ feel, as well as making my makeup look fresher and last all day – keep in mind here, my skin tends to be dry so in general foundations last a long time on my skin.

I generally wear this powder over the top of Rimmel Wake Me Up foundation and occasionally Laura Mercier Silk Creme foundation. I picked MAC Studio Careblend powder for $29 dollars CDN in the shade light, which was undetectable on my roughly NC15 skin.

Warning: selfie overload (as much as I loathe that word)

This is how the powder looks on top of Rimmel Wake Me Up foundation (I'm wearing Ivory) in the harsh light of my bathroom.
This is how the powder looks on top of Rimmel Wake Me Up foundation (I’m wearing Ivory) in the harsh light of my bathroom — I apologize about the red eyes
This is how the powder looks topped over Laura Mercier Silk Creme foundation (I'm wearing Rose Ivory), photographed in natural light
This is how the powder looks topped over Laura Mercier Silk Creme foundation (I’m wearing Rose Ivory), photographed in natural light
Ugh, I cannot believe I'm showing this but here is: late night picture of me wearing the powder over my Rimmel WMU foundation again up close and personal on a not-so-flattering flaky and spotty skin day.
Ugh, I cannot believe I’m showing this but here is: late night picture of me wearing the powder over my Rimmel WMU foundation again up close and personal on a not-so-flattering flaky and spotty skin day.

Verdict: If you are looking for a powder to set your makeup (or offer very minimal coverage) with a natural, soft-matte finish and velvety texture, particularly if you have drier skin, I recommend this powder for you. Any thoughts on this product, or MAC face products in general?

Salutations, as always!

14 thoughts on “MAC Studio Careblend Pressed Powder Review

  1. I’ve been using mac for over five years now and have been using careblend for just over two. I’m always getting people asking me how do I get my makeup so smooth and perfect. I love this product, however it’s so hard to buy online as I don’t have a mac outlet where I live. I will never change makeups. Great product

    1. I think this powder is great and unique as well. I can definitely relate with being far from a store… I have a Sephora and MAC near me but nothing else. Glad you’re enjoying it and thank you for commenting! 🙂

  2. Hello! I know this is kind of off-topic but I needed to ask.
    Does managing a well-established blog like yours take a massive amount work?
    I am completely new to blogging but I do write in my diary everyday.
    I’d like to start a blog so I can share my own experience
    and thoughts online. Please let me know if you have any kind of
    suggestions or tips for new aspiring blog owners. Appreciate it!

    1. I really appreciate the compliment that my blog is a really established one in your opinion! I’ve just spent the last nine months or so trying to figure it out myself. It seems like a lot of effort at first but with some organization – I recommend dedicating a notebook/agenda to the venture – it’s not too much work at all and is rather enjoyable. I would definitely say to go for it! In my opinion all you need to start a blog is great dedication and content – the rest comes second. 🙂

  3. With havin so much content and articles do you ever run into any problems of plagorism or copyright violation? My blog
    has a lot of exclusive content I’ve either
    created myself or outsourced but it looks like a
    lot of it is popping it up all over the web without my permission. Do you know any
    ways to help stop content from being stolen? I’d definitely appreciate it.

Leave a comment